Committee Members

Chair: Ruth Baker-Leask Ruth is an independent education consultant at Minerva Learning, formerly a primary headteacher and local authority English Consultant. She is also the Vice Chair of the English Expert Subject Advisory Group (ESAG).

Email: ruth@naae.org.uk 

Website: http://www.minervalearning.co.uk/

Twitter: @RuthBakerLeask

Treasurer: Debbie Haynes Debbie has taught and subsequently advised on English for over 32 years. She is now subject leader for Secondary ITE English at Wolverhampton University.

Email: debbie@naae.org.uk

John Hickman John taught in the London Borough of Newham for 25 years before becoming the English Adviser in the London Borough of Redbridge. He was also the treasurer of the London Association for the Teaching of English for 25 years. Since retiring, he has worked as a part-time lecturer at London’s South Bank University on the Primary PGCE course and is currently the Chair of Governors at a London Primary School; the Chair of NAAE and the Chair of Trustees at the English and Media Centre. Publications include “Teachers, Language and Learning” (Routledge) with Keith Kimberley.

Email: john@naae.org.uk

Steve Willshaw Steve Willshaw Steve is the English lead for a MAT, senior leader with a teaching school alliance and provides English subject input for a SCITT. He has been a local authority consultant and education officer in Guernsey.

Email: swillshaw62@gmail.com

Twitter: @stevewillshaw

 Secretary/ Publicity: Nikki Copitch Nikki has been a subject leader for Secondary English and Drama ITE, an English consultant and an English and Media teacher. She is now NAAE Secretary and Publicity Officer.

Email: nikki@naae.org.uk

Jane Davies jane@naae.org.uk